Batter Interference?

What is the correct call on this play from the 2015 ALDS?  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JUIBGhWv1KQ This rule is different in USA and High School. For USA Softball, Rule 7.6. U exception: “If no play is being made and the batter accidentally makes contact with the catcher’s return throw to the pitcher”, then “The ball is dead and…

Intentional Walk

Good Morning Joe, I have been umpiring softball for 19 years and I had my first Intentional Walk last night where the pitcher throws 4 balls to the catcher. I was unsure of my positioning behind the plate. If I got into my crouch, I would be staring at the catcher’s hindquarters and if I…

Ball Ricochets

Here are some answers to some “ricochet” questions that I have recently received. Enjoy the summary. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QixQMUu4CKI Batted ball hits fence and goes over = HR Batted ball hits a player and goes over = HR Batted ball hits fence, then a player, then goes over = 2B Line drive hits F5 and is caught…

Umpire Interference?

Hi Joe, I have a question about umpire interference. We have a dropped 3rd strike with no runner on 1st and the BR runs to 1st. The catcher picks up the ball, which is just behind her. She turns toward 1st, cocks her arm to throw and her hand hits me in the chest. She…

Timing Play Signal

Many of my partners commonly use the “timing play” mechanic. Is that a USA Softball mechanic? This is not a USA Softball or a Federation mechanic. The reason many umpires use it is that it is an NCAA and a baseball mechanic.  I’m not opposed to subtle informal signals that are agreed upon by the…

Overruling your Partner

Joe, Not to go into a super amount of detail but I had a situation in which my base umpire made an obstruction call but in my opinion it was obvious runner interference. The coached called timeout to question the obstruction call and the base umpire asked for my opinion and I basically responded that…

Throwing the Bat in High School

Hi Joe,The home team complained a couple of times about players throwing bats as they completed their swing. I mentioned to visiting coach between batters. Shortly thereafter a player threw her bat on a ground ball to 2B and the bat struck the catcher in her head (thank god for helmets!). I immediately called “dead…